ANGEL FOOD CAKE

January 24, 2012

ANGEL FOOD CAKE

150 g flour
225 g powdered sugar
12 big eggwhites
200 g caster sugar
1.5 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt
1 tsp. vanilla essence
1 tbsp. powdered sugar for dusting

1. Preheat the oven 160 degrees C.  Prepare a round baking pan (25cm), with loose base.
2. Sift flour and powdered sugar in a bowl.
3. Whip the eggwhites in foam. Add baking powder and salt, continue whipping till it gets thick but not stiff.
4. Without stopping slowly add caster sugar. The foam has to be shiny and smooth but not stiff.
5. Add vanilla.
6. With a wooden spoon slowly (2-3 spoons at a time) add the flour and powdered sugar. Mix slowly so that you do not lose the air.
7. Pour the mix in the pan. Even it out by slightly moving the pan from one side to the other.
8. Bake for 40-50 min till the top is golden brown and firm.
9. Take out from the oven, turn the pan upside down and place it on cooling rack for about an hour.
10. To get it out of the pan, use sharp knife. Be careful as you do not want to lose the nice outer layer of the cake.
11. Dust with powdered sugar or any other way you feel like.

P.S. I know, I know it is not as tall as in the pic from the book, but I had to choose between my 20cm and 30 cm pan.. and I took the biggest.. therefore it looks a bit different.. so.. I made this cake for my first Cake Testing Party for my friends that I hosted last Friday. And it was really delicious. I must admit unexpectedly delicious! Moist, sweet and light, after all no fat! And quite easy to make as well! Just one advise – do not drink Pina Colada with it.. :)

And thanks to all my friends that came. It was great! See you next time!

Enjoy,

k.

recipe from “Kūkas” by M. Neri

2 Responses to “ANGEL FOOD CAKE”

  1. Karina Says:

    It really was delicious! As I am not a sweet tooth myself, I enjoyed it’s subtle, mild taste. Puffy and moist. Yumm!

  2. Anits Says:

    Dievīga!


Leave a Reply

