CHOCOLATE BITES

January 30, 2012

CHOCOLATE BITES

PASTRY
150g flour
2 tbsp. powdered sugar
4 tbsp. butter
1 egg yolk
1 tbsp. water

FILLING
120 ml sweet cream
350 g dark chocolate
16 pecans or walnuts

1. Make the pastry: sift the flour and powdered sugar into a bowl. Mix in the butter with your hands till crumble forms. Mix in the egg yolk and water. Mix till a firm pastry forms. Wrap in foil and put in the fridge for 30 min.

2. Preheat the oven 180 degrees Celsius. Prepare the tins (I used “nut” tins).

3. Roll to 5mm thickness. Cut out 5cm circles and line them into the tins. Prick with fork.

4. Bake for 15 min until light brown. Let them cool down for an hour.

5. Make the filling:Melt the chocolate. Warm up the cream almost till boiling point and add to the melted chocolate. Mix till the cream gets smooth. Cool down in the fridge, but do not let it thicken up completely otherwise you will not be able to pipe it.

6. Put the cream in the icing pipe and fill in the pastry baskets, decorate with the nuts.

P.S. So last Friday I had my second Cake Testing Party, this time at my friends house as she has some problems with her health and is not allowed to leave her apartment. We had a great time again. So this time I made these chocolate bites. My chocolate-loving friends said they liked them, me personally not so much as I am not a real chocolate lover. I do not think I will ever make them again as it was quite time consuming but I must admit it looked really good as a sweet snack.

Enjoy,

k.

recipe from “Kūkas” by M. Neri

3 Responses to “CHOCOLATE BITES”

  1. Ginta Says:

    Your friend who isn’t allowed to leave her aparment really loved these. They taste good the next day too! ;) Perfect!

  2. Karina Says:

    Fantastic! I thought they would be very sweet, but actually they were crispy, mild taste of a dark chocolate and a fine nutty topping. Delicious!


Leave a Reply

